My own uneasy relationship with reflective practice stems from the fact it is a public directive from the New Zealand Ministry of Education and a training and registration requirement.

In the beginning, I reflected because I had to – rather than because I felt it would benefit my teaching practice. As I have progressed through my teaching journey I have found the practice of reflection becoming more important as a part of my daily teaching habits. As usual most of it occurs in my head – but more often I am committing my reflections to paper as a means of improving my practice. I think my concept has morphed towards reflection as an integral part of improving  practice and I recommend finding the space and time to write with thought and clarity. It can be difficult with family and work pressures – but creative insights and coherent thinking do come through the path of reflection.

