I find non-contact/ reflective time at work incredibly difficult with constant unintentional intrusions. The phone rings, someone needs a form or question answered and these things break my train of thought. I like time and space to organise my own thoughts, to write in a manner that parents will enjoy reading, and quiet space think about my teaching practice.

After listening to a TED Talk by Susan Cain, (http://www.ted.com/talks/susan_cain_the_power_of_introverts.html), I wonder if reflection comes easier to those who prefer quiet places and solitude to think and write. Susan Cain talks about introverts and how they are often marginalised by our modern culture of open plan and group work.  I don’t think I am particularly an introvert or extrovert, most likely I am in the middle somewhere, actually I think possibly I am an introvert and an extrovert – depending on the situation.

Diana Senechal writes about encouraging subtle shifts in our days, an honoring of the things of solitude, such as literature, science, art, friendship, and matters of conscience (Her book is Republic of Noise: The Loss of Solitude in Schools and Culture). After considering her ideas, I endeavour to be more mindful of colleagues during their non-contact and give others the space and time they need to think and write.

