A discussion with the new boss led me to mention I like symmetry, order and listing – she likes asymmetry, working ‘on the wing’ and challenge. Do we complement each other well or are we just different.

I wondered if I could ‘make’ myself more creative …I began reading about Edward De Bono’s ideas about lateral thinking. I think this is the beginning of a journey rather than a destination. De Bono’s most famous work in New Zealand is probably his  thinking hats. The hats are used so all aspects of an issue are considered – and everybody in a group is thinking about the same issue at the same time rather than bouncing all over the place.

  • The White Hat calls for information known or needed
  • The Red Hat signifies feelings, hunches and intuition
  • The Black Hat is judgment – the devil’s advocate or why something may not work
  • The Yellow Hat symbolizes brightness and optimism
  • The Green Hat focuses on creativity: the possibilities, alternatives and new ideas
  • The Blue Hat is used to manage the thinking process

Lets see how we go ….

