A discussion with the new manager led me to mention I like symmetry, order and listing – she likes asymmetry. Do we complement each other well or are we just different. I wondered if I could ‘make’ myself more creative …I began reading about Edward De Bono’s ideas about lateral thinking. I think this is the beginning of a journey rather than a destination.

The Six Thinking Hats (or modes)

  • The White Hat
  • The White Hat calls for information known or needed.
  • The Red Hat
  • The Red Hat signifies feelings, hunches and intuition.
  • The Black Hat
  • The Black Hat is judgment — the devil’s advocate or why something may not work.
  • The Yellow Hat
  • The Yellow Hat symbolizes brightness and optimism.
  • The Green Hat
  • The Green Hat focuses on creativity: the possibilities, alternatives and new ideas.
  • The Blue Hat
  • The Blue Hat is used to manage the thinking process.